Crime Fiction on a Europass: Italy

Kerrie’s  Crime Fiction Europass stops in Italy this week, which gives me the opportunity to write about David Hewson‘s Italian mysteries featuring Detective Nic Costa and his partner Gianni Peroni. The books in this series are:

  • A Season for the Dead (2003)
  • The Villa of Mysteries (2004)
  • The Sacred Cut (2005)
  • The Lizard’s Bite (2006)
  • The Seventh Sacrament (2007)
  • The Garden of Evil (2008) Shortlisted for Theakston’s Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year Award 2009.
  • Dante’s Numbers (revised edition The Dante Killings in the US) (2008)
  • The Blue Demon (City Of Fear in the US) (2009)
  • The Fallen Angel (2011)
  • Carnival for the Dead (2012)

This is a new series for me and I’ve jumped in to read the fourth book, The Lizard’s Bite, I hope I shouldn’t have read the earlier books before this one.


In a dilapidated glass furnace off the island of Murano the fire races out of control. Two people are dead, and for Leo Falcone, exiled to Venice, with Nic Costa and Gianni Peroni, the question is whether he’s dealing with one murderer or two.

For Costa, life in Venice is more perplexing on other fronts too. His relationship with Emily Deacon is deepening, and she is missing the law enforcement work she’s abandoned for a different, quieter career. Slowly, the sluggish world of the lagoon begins to enfold the Romans in its sinister grip, as they try to untangle the complex family ties of the tragic Arcangeli family on a private island falling into ruin. (Description copied from David Hewson’s website)

One thought on “Crime Fiction on a Europass: Italy

  1. I really love crime novels and am a devoted Italophile so in theory David Hewson’s Nic Costa books should have suited me perfectly but I have tried two different ones and not managed to finish either!
    I will be interested to see what you think and then might give one another try as it has been a while since the last attempt!


Comments are closed.